My CKAD Journey

My CKAD Journey

Finally, I am a Certified Kubernetes Application Developer. A few days back I appeared for CKAD and received the certificate. Here I am sharing my journey of CKAD. Yes, it was a journey, a journey because I took a long time to appear for the exam than I expected. But it is all worth it when you get the desired result.

In the beginning I started with container, docker and orchestration. I was gaining the basic knowledge of Docker and Kubernetes. When I decided to appear for CKAD I wasn't sure if I can clear this or not.

What is CKAD?

As per CNCF CKAD program has been developed by Cloud Native Computing Foundation in collaboration with The Linux Foundation. This exam certifies that users can design, build, configure, and expose cloud native applications for Kubernetes.

How I started my preparations

The basic knowledge I had wasn't enough for CKAD. So I decided to take a course solely dedicated to this. I started searching more and more about CKAD preparations. One common thing in all the search results was KodeKloud. So my next stop became KodeKloud. They provide amazing content for DevOps with hands-on labs.

KodeKloud Journey

KodeKloud works on a subscription basis i.e. users can access any course till the subscription is active. Landing on KodeKloud I realized instead of directly jumping on CKAD course I should follow the whole learning path defined for it. So here is the list of courses I took.

  • DevOps Prerequisites

It is the best course for people who are starting from zero knowledge of DevOps. It gave me insights into vm, networking in vm, database, and much more.

  • Docker for the Absolute Beginner

As the name suggests it delivers the basics of knowledge. But since I was already familiar with it, it acted as a revision for me. I was able to complete it in few days only.

  • Kubernetes For the Absolute Beginner

Similarly in this as well I didn't waste much time.

  • Certified Kubernetes Application Developer

This course has been designed to cover all the topics of the exam.

Even if somebody who is not interested in appearing for the exam can take these courses to get better knowledge around DevOps.

After Course

The main struggle starts here when you know you have gained the knowledge and now is the time to test it. I started with the hands-on labs provided in KodeKloud including the mock test. In the beginning, I got scared that I wasn't even understanding the question. But I didn't lose hope and followed only one mantra practice... practice... practice. Along with practice, it was necessary to have a good speed as well as the exam is of two hours with 19 questions. Attempting mock tests helped a lot in that.

I practiced these labs till I wasn't satisfied with my performance(although I am never). After this, I head to all the docs and practice questions shared by other people.

Sharing the ones I practiced:

These resources helped me understand how questions would be framed in the main exam.

Alias

While I was preparing for the exam few articles I went through recommended creating an alias. Although it is not necessary they are used so that we can save time and also refrain oneself from committing spelling mistakes.

Remembering alias is not easy if you have not practiced them enough. It is not allowed to execute a separate file in the exam so for using an alias one has to type each of them in the terminal. I felt create alias only when one can remember it in the exam. I created only four alias which I felt are used the most.

alias k="kubectl"

alias ka="kubectl apply -f"

export gpf="--grace-period=0 --force"

export do="--dry-run=client -o yaml"

While giving mock tests I made it a habit to create these alias and used them. It made me used them smoothly in the exam.

The Final Day

CKAD is a practical exam where questions are provided and we need to perform the solutions in the terminal given. The exam is proctored. This can be a new experience for some. So practice is necessary for this. But since I had already appeared for RHCSA in 2019 I was a bit familiar with the concept.

The exam went smoothly. After the exam as usual anxiety started for the result. In these exams, results are declared within 24 hours. I received it in exactly 24 hours but passing that 24 hours was so difficult.

ckad.PNG

Few Hacks

  • Practice, practice, and practice is the key

  • While in practice as well use Kubernetes Documentation to get familiar with it. It is allowed to use it in the exam.

  • Using Ctrl+f / cmd+f helps a lot in searching documentation.

  • killer.sh provide two mock tests similar to the exam scenario. It is provided free while registering for the exam. I tried killer.sh just a few days before exams to get insights into exam scenarios. Although I found the killer.sh more difficult than CKAD

  • I cleared CKAD on the first attempt but I believe when these exams come with one free retake one must not hesitate to go for it in case of failure in the first attempt.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Kritika Singhal by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!